CiE 2012 - How the World Computes

Print current page  Print this page

Home page


University of Cambridge, 18 June - 23 June, 2012:

Deadline for Informal Presentations: 11 May 2012
submit a paper
Venue: New Museums Site
CB2 3QZ (Google map)

CiE 2012 is one of a series of special events, running throughout the Alan Turing Year, celebrating Turing's unique impact on mathematics, computing, computer science, informatics, morphogenesis, artificial intelligence, philosophy and the wider scientific world.

Its central theme is the computability-theoretic concerns underlying the broad spectrum of Turing's interests, and the contemporary research areas founded upon and animated by them.
In this sense, CiE 2012, held in Cambridge in the week running up to the centenary of Turing's birthday, deals with the essential core of what made Turing's contribution so influential and long-lasting.

CiE 2012 promises to be an event worthy of the remarkable scientific career it commemorates.

picture of Alan Turing

Invited Speakers:

Andrew Hodges (Oxford -
Special Public Lecture)

Andrew Hodges Ian Stewart (Warwick -
Special Public Lecture)

Ian Stewart
Dorit Aharonov (Jerusalem)
Dorit Aharonov Verónica Becher (Buenos
Veronica Becher
Lenore Blum (Carnegie
Mellon - The 2012
APAL Lecture)
Lenore Blum Rodney Downey (Wellington)
Rod Downey
Yuri Gurevich (Microsoft -
The EACSL Invited
Yuri Gurevich Juris Hartmanis (Cornell) (abstract) Juris Hartmanis
Richard Jozsa (Cambridge) (abstract) Richard Jozsa Stuart Kauffman (Vermont/
Santa Fe)
(Background article)
Stuart Kauffman
James D. Murray (Oxford/
Princeton: Microsoft Research
Cambridge Lecture)
Jim Murray Stuart Shieber (Harvard)
Stuart Shieber
Paul Smolensky (Johns
Paul Smolensky Leslie Valiant (Harvard -
jointly organised lecture
with King's College)
Les Valiant

Programme Committee:

Samson Abramsky (Oxford)
Pieter Adriaans (Amsterdam)
Franz Baader (Dresden)
Arnold Beckmann (Swansea)
Mark Bishop (London)
Paola Bonizzoni (Milan)
Luca Cardelli (Cambridge)
Douglas Cenzer (Gainesville)
S Barry Cooper (Leeds, Co-chair)
Ann Copestake (Cambridge)
Anuj Dawar (Cambridge, Co-chair)
Solomon Feferman (Stanford)
Bernold Fiedler (Berlin)
Luciano Floridi (Hertfordshire/Oxford)
Martin Hyland (Cambridge)
Marcus Hutter (Canberra)
Viv Kendon (Leeds) Stephan Kreutzer (Oxford)
Ming Li (Waterloo)
Benedikt Löwe (Amsterdam)
Angus MacIntyre (London)
Philip Maini (Oxford)
Larry Moss (Bloomington)
Amitabha Mukerjee (Kanpur)
Damian Niwinski (Warsaw)
Dag Normann (Oslo)
Prakash Panangaden (Montreal)
Jeff Paris (Manchester)
Brigitte Pientka (Montreal)
Helmut Schwichtenberg (Munich)
Wilfried Sieg (Carnegie Mellon)
Mariya Soskova (Sofia)
Bettina Speckmann (Eindhoven)
Christof Teuscher (Portland)
Peter van Emde Boas (Amsterdam)
Jan van Leeuwen (Utrecht)
Rineke Verbrugge (Groningen)

Organising Committee:

Arnold Beckmann (Swansea)
Luca Cardelli (Cambridge)
S Barry Cooper (Leeds)
Ann Copestake (Cambridge)
Anuj Dawar (Cambridge, Chair)
Bjarki Holm (Cambridge)
Martin Hyland (Cambridge)
Benedikt Löwe (Amsterdam)
Arno Pauly (Cambridge)
Andrew Pitts (Cambridge)


CiE 2012 will be held in the central New Museums Site of the University of Cambridge. Plenary sessions will be held in the Babbage Lecture Theatre, named after Charles Babbage, Lucasian Professor of Mathematics at Cambridge, 1828 to 1839.


CiE 2012 poster King's College Chapel  Bletchley Park Bombe rebuild Slate Turing Nature cover Tatarstan stamp

The Alan Turing Year ASL Cambridge University Cambridge University Press Computability in Europe the source site ELsevier EACSL EATCS IET IFCoLog IOS Press Isaac Newton Institute King's College, Cambridge Microsoft Research Cambridge Science AAAS Springer

websites: Barry Cooper and Arnold Beckmann 2012-07-19 Valid HTML 4.01! Valid CSS!